distractions and sisters

I spent Tuesday morning and afternoon reflecting on the story of Martha and Mary in Luke 10. 

 Jesus comes to Martha’s house, and while Martha is busy with “many tasks,” Mary was sitting at Jesus feet, listening to him.  Martha confronts Jesus “Do you not care that my sister has left me to do the work all by myself? Tell her then to help me.”  I love the close relationship that allows Martha to talk to Jesus so directly.  But Jesus doesn’t see things her way.  “Martha, Martha. you are distracted by many things; there is need of only one thing.  Mary has chosen the better part which will not be taken from her.”

  • Many tasks
  • Distracted by many things
  • Do you not care?
  • Tell her then to help me
  • Need of only one thing
  • Mary has chosen the better part
  • Will not be taken from her
I have a sister and am raising two daughters, so this story rings true for my life. But it isn’t only sisters who struggle with the challenges of demands and tasks and who should be doing them and who has made which choice.
 
Today, I hear the need to set aside distractions. To find the better part and tend to that.
 
In the Garden at Manresa Retreat House
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

